EdisiViral.Com Video Search Login

Song changes to Covid-19 red zone after recording 80 local infections in past 14 days

0 month ago, 07-Jun-2021

Bernama file photo shows a health worker conducting a Covid-19 swab test.

KUCHING (June 7): Sarawak now has 28 Covid-19 red-zone districts with the addition of Song, after the district recorded 80 local infection cases in the past 14 days, said the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC).

The other red zones are Sebauh, Kabong, Dalat, Bau, Marudi, Meradong, Lubok Antu, Beluru, Asajaya, Tanjung Manis, Tatau, Bukit Mabong, Betong, Sri Aman, Pakan, Kanowit, Selangau, Subis, Mukah, Sarikei, Samarahan, Serian, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu.

The committee also said that Julau has reverted to an orange zone after the district recorded only 21 local transmission cases in the past two weeks.

There are now four Covid-19 orange zones with the other three being Simunjan, Saratok and Pusa.

Eight districts in the state remain as yellow zones namely Belaga, Telang Usan, Lawas, Daro, Tebedu, Limbang, Matu and Lundu. There are also no green zones left in Sarawak.

The Ministry of Health categorises a district with no Covid-19 cases as a green zone while one to 20 local infection cases recorded in a district over a two-week period are classified as yellow zone. Districts with 41 and more cases will be designated as red zones while those with 21 to 40 cases are classified as orange zones.

Meanwhile, SDMC said the police has issued 70 compounds in Bintulu (15), Kuching (11) Miri (10), Sibu (8), Sarikei (8), Lawas (6), Dalat (3), Kapit (3), Bau (3), Serian (1), Kota Samarahan (1) and Padawan (1) districts for violating Covid-19 standard operating procedures (SOPs).

It said 20 compounds were issued for carrying passengers in a vehicle over the permitted limit; 16 for remaining in public areas past 10pm; 14 for gathering in a group more than two persons in public areas; nine for not wearing face masks; six for operating unauthorised premises during the Movement Control Order; four for not registering the MySejahtera when entering a premises; and one for inter-district travel without permit.

The total number of compounds issued since March 18, 2020 have now increased to 7,321 compounds, it said.

The committee also said that the Ministry of Local Government and Housing had issued 15 compounds under the jurisdiction of Bintulu Development Authority (8), Serian District Council (2), Meradong and Julau District Council (2), Miri City Council (2), and Sarikei District Council (1).

The compounds were issued for SOP violations namely not updating record book entries or incomplete registration book (7); not registering MySejahtera (2)l; not wearing face mask (2); carrying passengers in a vehicle over the permitted limit (2); not providing body temperature scanner (1); and allowing dine-ins (1).

The total compounds issued by local authorities since Feb 1, 2021 have now increased to 914 compounds.

Live Website Traffic